Monday, June 27, 2011

Yale Publishing Course Announces Program

Dick Stolley, Dorothy Kalins, Glamour's Cindi Leive, Consumer Reports' Kevin McKean, Town & Country's Pamela Fiori, People's Jane Nicholls, Yale 360's Roger Cohn and The Atlantic's Corby Kummer, James Fallows and Gabriel Snyder are among the well-known magazine journalists on the faculty of this year's Yale Publishing Course. For more information about the program, click here.

Friday, June 17, 2011

ASME Annual Intern Alumni Reception

If you're a former ASME Intern, don't forget to RSVP to the Annual Reception!

Here's the info:

Wednesday, June 22, 2011
6 p.m. to 8 p.m.
CUNY Graduate School of Journalism
City University of New York
219 West 40th Street (Between 7th and 8th Avenues)
New York City

E-mail to RSVP

Tuesday, June 7, 2011

Larry Hackett Re-Elected ASME President

Larry Hackett, Managing Editor of People, was re-elected president of the American Society of Magazine Editors at the ASME annual meeting today.

Also re-elected were Peggy Northrop, VP and Global Editor-in-Chief of Reader's Digest, as vice-president; Lucy Danziger, Editor-in-Chief of SELF, as secretary; and Rosemary Ellis, Editor-in-Chief of Good Housekeeping, as treasurer. ASME officers serve one-year terms and are eligible for reelection to a second term.

Five new members were chosen for two-year terms on the ASME board: Amy DuBois Barnett, Editor-in-Chief of Ebony; Dana Cowin, Editor-in-Chief of Food & Wine; Sally Lee, SVP/NY Editorial Director, Meredith Corporation, and Editor-in-Chief of Ladies’ Home Journal; Gael Towey, Chief Editorial and Creative Director, Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia, Inc.; and Josh Tyrangiel, Editor of Bloomberg Businessweek. A complete list of board members can be seen at